2021 Year-In-Review

2021 Year-In-Review

The Good & The Bad

ยท

3 min read

In all honesty, I'd like to thank God for giving me the courage to write this down and show it to the world because I don't think I accomplished much for myself to share, so I'd rather keep it to myself till that time. However, I think it's a really good way to self-reflect and learn from my mistakes the past year. Also, it's a good way to keep track of my progress and goals.

2021 in a Nutshell

2021 for me has been a year of growth, a positive and great learning experience, both in my career and life. I met some goals and didn't meet some I planned. I met some incredibly great people and met some that taught me one or two lessons. In all, I'm particularly grateful for the opportunities that have come my way, the people that inspired me to better every day, and the friendships that budded into a family.

Here's a quick review of what happened in my 2021:

The Good:

  • Got a Bank of America interview
  • Completed my 6-months SIWES internship and earned some certificates(whoop whoop!)
  • Learned React (finally), Flask.
  • Started my blog this year and had my first sponsored article
  • Built 3 personal web apps
  • Got reached to by multiple companies for different job opportunities relating to Software Engineer roles
  • Made friends that turned to family
  • Grew Spiritually and talked more about Jesus
  • Got into UI/UX and I can say I'm not bad (haha)

The Bad:

  • Got rejected by Goldman (sad)
  • Laptop got damaged and phone got stolen
  • Lost plenty of money (lol)
  • Had a bad IT defense (sigh, I can only blame myself for this, we learn and move on)
  • Didn't meet a goal to build a solution (on my own)
  • Got a lot of rejection letters
  • Lost an election (we move)

2021 was a year of growth, exploring my creative side, and learning to adapt to change. Whether it be in a company or life.

I'm super grateful for my parents constantly supporting and caring for me, I appreciate you. You're the best. And I'm also super grateful for my family and friends that made this year extra special for me, to mention a few, Big Mummy, Middle Mummy, Aunty Herieta, Mr. Rufai, Sir Chuks (I won't say too much haha ๐Ÿ˜„) & Sir Lekan, Bolu Akinwande, Samuel (my guy for life, thanks for being supportive throughout and helping me when I needed it most), Uche, Mishael, Niyi Fasanmoye (again, had to be specific lol), Faith, Samira (my guy!), and all my office people (you know yourselves).

There are a lot more people that were involved in my growth this year and I wish I could list out everyone, but this article would be way longer than intended and won't be released on time. However, I just want to say thank you to all of you (yes you currently reading that influenced me positively) that made this year great for me. Wish you all the best!

2022 Goals

I have a vision I'm working with that influences the goals I set so I'll try my best to stick with it for next year as well as I write and plan my goals for the year 2022.

Some of my 2022 goals include:

  • Improving myself as a Software Engineer anyway I can
  • Learn various and technologies and use them to build products or solutions that make the world a better place
  • Grow Spiritually
  • Learn a new language
  • and more

I'll be working on my goals and vision for 2022, hopefully, it'll be better than this year, so stay tuned! ๐Ÿ˜‰

My best is yet to come!

Thank you for reading and I wish you a happy new year in advance! ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰

References

ย